ENC Summer Interns

At the end of our last session, three of our core team members left ENC and headed to cooler climes and new archaeology. Bryan Heisinger returned to Sequoia Kings Canyon National Park, Emily McCuistion returned to Denali National Park, and Kelton Meyer went home to Colorado to assist on a Colorado State University field school. As sad as we were to see Bryan, Emily, and Kelton go, we are equally happy to welcome our two new summer interns to the crew: Lindsay Vermillion and Kate Richey. Both Lindsay and Kate have worked in ENC before. Lindsay was a summer intern in 2014, and has volunteered on the project over several occasions. Kate was one of our field school students in 2015.

Lindsay Vermillion

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hi everyone! I’m from Big Bear Lake (a tiny mountain town in Southern California) and am currently an upper-division undergraduate student at Texas State working towards my BA in anthropology, with a focus in archaeology. I have done some work on California’s Channel Islands through Humboldt State University, particularly regarding sea mammal exploitation on San Miguel. This past year I interned with Shumla Archaeological Research and Education Center studying the rock art of the Lower Pecos. I am also involved with the Experimental Archaeology Club at Texas State where I first became acquainted with the Ancient Southwest Texas Project. I have previously volunteered for ASWT and am happy to be back as an intern.

Other Useless Information: I am a classically-trained cook dedicated to sustainability. In my spare time I like to garden, poetry slam, salsa (though I’m not very good at it,) and bask in the sun as much as possible.

 

Kate Richey

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hi my name is Kate Richey I am from British Columbia, Canada and am entering into my final year of archaeology at the University of Calgary. I participated in the 2015 field school in Eagle Nest canyon where we excavated at Horse Trail shelter. It was my first time out in the field and I had very little idea of what we would be doing or where we would be working and I was amazed when I saw the canyon that we would be working in every day. Last year’s field school was a great experience and so when I found out there was an opportunity to come back and work in the canyon again I had to say yes. Despite the many poisonous animals, the very warm temperatures and the liberal use of jalapenos (none of which we have much of in Canada) I am very happy to be back! So far it has been a steep learning curve but every day brings new finds and things to discuss and I am looking forward to the rest of time I get to spend down here.

 

We are happy to have both of them on the crew and look forward to a successful finish of our field season!

Leave a Reply

